Firearms Services

The Firearms Act 1996 and Firearms Regulations 2006 provide for regulation, registration and control of firearms in Tasmania.

The Act came into force following the tragic events which occurred at Port Arthur on 28 April 1996, following a national agreement that the laws relating to the control of firearms should be consistent across Australia.

The administration of the Act and Regulations is the responsibility of the Department of Police, Fire and Emergency Management.  Firearms Services is a unit within this department that has responsibility for firearms licensing, registration and administration in Tasmania.

This site is designed to provide current and prospective firearms licence holders and firearms dealers with a reference point for the requirements relating to firearms licensing and registration in Tasmania.

  • Provided a licence holder lodges a renewal application prior to the licence expiring or within 14 days after the expiry of the licence
  • and assuming that there are no issues identified during the vetting process
  • the licence does not expire and the licence holder will receive the new licence card in due course. 
  • That means, even though someone has an expired licence card, if their renewal has been lodged, their licence remains valid and shows as being valid on police systems.
  • If the application for renewal is not lodged prior to midnight on the 14th day after expiry, then the licence holder will be required to surrender their firearms.
  • After this time Firearms Services can no longer accept a renewal application. The expired licence holder may seek to apply for a new licence if desired.

Latest news

Firearms Amnesty Graphic 1 July - 30 September 2017

June 2017 – National Firearms Amnesty Launch:

Australia’s National Firearms Amnesty runs from 01 July to 30 September 2017. The aim of the amnesty is to improve public safety by reducing the number of unregistered firearms and firearm-related articles in our community. To find out more visit our Firearms Amnesty page.

  • May 2017 – Firearms Storage Requirements will change on 4 December 2017. To allow sufficient time for firearm owners to take the necessary actions, changes to firearms storage requirements are provided in comparison to the current requirements. See: Storage, Safekeeping & Transport.
  • April 2017 – Firearms Categorisation Determinations: Firearms Categorisation Guidelines relate to the assessment of firearms in order to determine whether they fall under Schedule 1, item 6 of the Firearms Act 1996. Firearms which fall within this provision cannot be the subject of licences under the Act and are therefore unable to be registered. The following firearms have been assessed in accordance with the Guidelines and determinations made as follows * Warwick Firearms – WFA1 – prohibited.  * Australian Automatic Arms Semi-automatic pistol – prohibited. * Australian Automatic Arms Semi-automatic rifle – prohibited. * Smith & Wesson – M&P 15/22 – prohibited. * Ruger – Precision – not prohibited (category B firearm). Please note these determinations follow consideration of specified firearms and any variants of these models will require separate consideration Please contact for further enquiries in relation to this matter.
  • February 2017 -The Firearms Categorisation Guidelines have been finalised. The Guidelines relate to the categorisation of firearms in Schedule 1(6) of the Firearms Act 1996. The Guidelines will be used by Firearms Services for the interpretation and application of schedules 1(1) & 1(6) of the Act.
  • January 2017 – In December 2016, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG), agreed to strengthen the National Firearms Agreement (NFA), by reclassifying lever action shotguns with a magazine capacity of no greater than five (5) rounds to Category B and those with a magazine capacity of greater than five (5) rounds to Category D. Individuals should bear this in mind when purchasing lever action shotguns. In Tasmania, the required legislative change and reclassification of lever action shotguns will have an impact on some firearms owners.  Currently, these firearms require a Category A licence. Once a decision has been made about how and when these changes will occur, Firearms Services will contact affected licence holders in writing detailing the changes and the options available to them. Firearms clubs and dealers will also be contacted with information detailing the changes and associated processes. Upgrades of firearms licences will still be subject to the current standards required for those categories.  Licence holders who are eligible to have their licence upgraded will have the upgrade fee waived for this reclassification only.  Further information can be obtained from Firearms Services on (03) 6173 2720 or e-mail
  • November 2016 – Amendments to firearms storage requirements.
  • October 2016 – Firearms Services has updated information on this website.  The site now provides advice on a wide range of firearms issues and includes links to the most commonly requested application forms, legislation and other reference information. Further information will continue to be added to the site, including important updates, a FAQs section and information for dealers. Meanwhile people are encouraged to use the site as the first point of reference for inquiries relating to firearms registration and licensing in Tasmania.