About Us

The Department of Police, Fire and Emergency Management (DPFEM) provides policing and emergency management services to the Tasmanian community. The Department includes Tasmania Police, State Emergency Service (SES), Forensic Science Service Tasmania (FSST) and the Tasmania Fire Service (TFS), and operates under the core legislation of the Police Service Act 2003, the State Service Act 2000, and the Emergency Management Act 2006.

The Department comprises three geographical police Districts, with five specialised support districts and three SES regional areas, which are supported by a State Headquarters.

DPFEM Business Priorities focus on activities aimed at meeting the Department’s Vision and Mission.